What Can You See In A Week?

M is away a lot for work, and has to be away for a whole month over summer, so we decided to coordinate ourselves and take a weeks holiday together. We had some discussion of where to go, but we knew we would travel around in the car, camping where we felt like, sleeping in the tent or car (I preferred the car as it was less likely a bear would eat me if I was in the car – I am not joking, I have developed a bear-phobia, but I otherwise did not think of cougars, wolves or bobcats, lucky me??), and doing hikes and whatever else took our fancy. There is just so much to see in BC, so it made it hard to narrow down, but in the end we decided to drive in a bit of a loop east from Vancouver, heading out past Chilliwack, Hope, Manning Provincial Park, Princeton, Keremeos, Osoyoos, Rossland, Castelgar, Nelson, Kokanee Glacier Park,  Kaslo, New Denver, Nakusp, Vernon, Kelowna, Penticton, Okanagan Falls and eventually back to where we came from. Clearly we didn’t stop at all these places, and honestly not all of these places are worth stopping at (in my opinion if you are pushed for time, skip Vernon, Kelowna, Penticton and spend more time at the earlier places). I made a map so you can see the general route we took, so if you want to see it click here. Go on, you know you want to, otherwise what do all those place names mean? And why did I spend all that time making the map?

Along the way we saw:

high craggy mountains still topped with snow

high craggy mountains still topped with snow,

alpine flowers

fields of alpine flowers,

Central Otago (???!!) complete with road side fruit stalls

Central Otago (???!!) complete with road side fruit stalls,

forested lakes

forested lakes,

misty morning lakes

misty morning lakes,

animals that won't eat me

animals that won’t eat me,

AND NO BEARS! Phew! But of course, I didn’t know we wouldn’t see any til the holiday was over.

2 responses to “What Can You See In A Week?

  • OanaStefancu

    Your pictures are beautiful! I am now in Canada for the first time and the views are just breathtaking. I simply can’t get enough of it. I was also lucky enough not to meet any bears or cougars. We have been on Gambier Island for the past 3 weeks. Here is our short documentary of our time here, if interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHIWo-8N7Z8

    • kiswe

      Hi Oana thanks for reading and taking the time to comment 🙂 I watched the video you posted – those little “watch our for bear” signs are so familiar!!!! I haven’t been to Gambier Island (yet) but I hope to get there in the future. Enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

