Happy Birthday To ME From Ucluelet and Tofino

As a 35th (OMG 35!) birthday present to myself, M asked me did I want to do anything. Yes! I want to go to Tofino, out on Vancouver Island. No protests were raised or complaints that it could be our last chance to ski for the season. So I looked at accommodation and nearly died at how expensive it is to rent a cottage or something similar in Tofino, so we looked in Ucluelet instead and found a sweet little place there.

I didn’t want a hotel room, which would of course have been cheaper – I wanted a little place where if the weather was terrible I could light the fire and curl up with my book and a glass of wine. Anyway, I got what I wanted ūüôā

These weren't the cottages we stayed in but ours looked almost identical. I really wanted to buy the red one, it's so cute and view and setting of the area was SO amazing!

These weren’t the cottages we stayed in but ours looked almost identical. I really wanted to buy the red one, it’s so cute and the view and setting of the area was SO amazing!

So we left Friday morning and took the ferry over from Horseshoe Bay. We got lucky, as we only made it to the ferry about 15 minutes before departure, and as we were taking the car we didn’t think we would make it on, but we did. A short 1.5 hour ferry ride later, we were over on Vancouver Island.

Bye bye Vancouver....

Bye bye Vancouver….

IMG_6211IMG_6210

 

... and welcome to Vancouver Island!

… and welcome to Vancouver Island!

Once there we offloaded in the car and were away. It takes roughly 3 hours to drive over the island to Tofino or Ucluelet. We stopped along the way to look a bit at some walks. This one was called Cathedral Trail, and had been nicely groomed so people of all abilities could access it.

IMG_6230

IMG_6245

IMG_6256

IMG_6268

IMG_6271

Anyway, needless to say the potential 3 hour drive became somewhat longer because we kept stopping to look at things. Where we were staying was barely 5 minutes walk from the ocean (we were in the tsunami zone…. reassuring?), so we went out for an evening walk. And encountered this sign:

Wildlife

I guess I’m no longer in NZ…! But despite this sign we took a walk anyway, because regardless of the fact that Vancouver Island boasts the most cougars (aka mountain lions) per area, it would be very rare to see one (phew!). And I was rather hoping the same applied to the bears and wolves. I’m ok to see these guys from a safe distance, but I’d rather not encounter them on a trail. Instead of seeing any local wildlife in the category of “could potentially eat you for dinner”, we just got to see beautiful views and beaches and coastlines.

IMG_6297

IMG_6286

IMG_6337

IMG_6350

IMG_6307

IMG_6299

Leave a Reply

