Downtown Sea Otters

(A quick addition to this post. Apparently this is actually a river otter, Lutra canadensis, not a sea otter. I have it from an authority on the topic! ūüôā )

I took a walk today to absorb some day(grey)light and fresh air, and take a break in my work. Just trundled down around the sea wall, heading towards Stanley Park. Stopped by the inukshuk and was about to head back the way I had come, when I noticed what I initially thought was a baby seal on the beach. I looked closer. It was a sea otter! Pretty rare to see these animals in the wild like this, especially given the location – downtown Vancouver, 1.5 million people on your right, ocean and sea otter on your left. I managed to snap a couple of pics on my camera, so the quality isn’t great, but here they are. Another reason I think this city is so great.

Lounging on the beach in downtown Vancouver.

Lounging on the beach in downtown Vancouver.

sea otter 2

sea otter 3

Leave a Reply

