Lions and Tigers and Bears – Oh My! Into the Wilderness Take II

Warning sign 1

Warning Sign 2

Imagine my delight when M went off biking and I chose to do a little walk around 4 lakes (called The Four Lakes Trail) and these were the signs that greeted me at the entrance to the trail. This trail was very near Squamish, and as such, very much in bear territory.

4 Lakes Trail Sign

Now ever since we knew we were moving to Vancouver I’ve had a thing about bears. I think it’s good to have a healthy respect for large carnivores, however having nightmares is going a bit far. On the other hand, the worst I’ve had to contend with in the wild is curious cows that stole our bread and looked like they were about to eat our sweaty clothes in place of salt licks, and sheep bells. So rocking up alone (breaking the first rule of hiking, never hike alone) to be met by signs for cougars, bobcats and bears (oh my!) was a bit overwhelming.  Not to mention that cougars are known as mountain lions. Hmmm…

As M had already taken off on his bike and I didn’t relish the idea of sitting in the car for the next 3 – 4 hours (trust me, I seriously considered this option), I sucked it up and strode head long into a dark, creepy forest. Things always seem worse when you’re scared don’t they? So I pussy footed around for the first few minutes, keeping very alert (because my outdoors honed senses are quite a match for any wild carnivore who wants to eat me), and once I saw other people, on their own, in groups, parent with small kids, I started to relax a bit.

This must have been one of the most stunning walks I have done. Certainly not the hardest, probably not the safest, but definitely pretty!

Reflective lake

the trail

Mt Giribaldi?

Chipmunk

Mushroom tree stump

everywhere green

autumn colours

Although it doesn't look like much, I could hear the rocks being tumbled and thrown against each other by the force of this river.

Although it doesn’t look like much, I could hear the rocks being tumbled and thrown against each other by the force of this river.

reflective lake 2

 

One response to “Lions and Tigers and Bears – Oh My! Into the Wilderness Take II

Leave a Reply

